Free subscriptions to newsletters, print publications, and more


Doctoral Graduates

Ryan Haislmaier, Ph.D. (2016)

Thesis Title: Strain-induced phenomenon in complex oxide thin films

Present: Postdoc, Bharat Jalan Group, U. Minnessota


Arnab SenGupta, Ph.D. (2015)

Thesis Title: Topochemical synthesis & characterization of octahedral rotation induced noncentrosymmetric layered perovskites

Present: Postdoc, Roman Engel-Herbert Group, Penn State


Brian K. VanLeeuwen, Ph.D. (2015)

Thesis TitleThe symmetry and antisymmetry of distortions

Present: Analyst, Two Sigma, Manhattan, NY


Eftihia Vlahos, Ph.D (2005)

Thesis Title: Phase transitions and domain structures in multiferroics.

Present:US Army Engineer Research and Development Center, Vicksburg, MS


Mahesh Krishnamurthi, PhD (2010) 

Thesis Title: Optoelectronic Metamaterials for Subwavelength Imaging and Laser Beam Manipulation

Present: Intel, Photonics Group, Santa Clara


Amit Kumar, PhD (2009) 

Thesis Title: Spin-Charge-Lattice Coupling in Multiferroics and Strained Ferroelectrics

Present: Lecturer, Queen's University Belfast


Vasudeva Rao Aravind, PhD (2009)  

Thesis Title: Probing local structure and dynamics of ferroelectric domain walls using nonlinear optics and scanning probe microscope

Present: Associate Professor, Physics, Clarion University, PA  Email: <>


Lili Tian, Ph. D. (2006)

Thesis Title: Nanoscale probing and photonic applications of ferroelectric domain walls.

Present: Research Scientist, Corning Inc.


David A. Scrymgeour, Ph. D. (2004)

Thesis Title: Local structure and shaping of domain walls for photonic applications.

Present:Truman Fellow, Reseach Scientist, Sandia National Labs


Sungwon Kim, Ph.D (2003)

Thesis Title: Optical, electrical and elastic properties of domain walls in lithium niobate and lithium tantalate

Present: Intel Co.


Postdoctoral Scholars

Hirofumi Akamatsu (2013-2015)

Present: Assistant Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology


Greg Stone (2012-2015)

Present: Army Research Labs, Picatinny, NJ


Tom T. A. Lummen (2010-2013)

Present: EPFL, Switzerland


Baigang Zhang (2012-2013)

Present: Research Assistant at KLA-Tencor


Neil Baril (2007-2010)

Present: Army Night Vision Lab


Mariola Ramirez (2006-2008)

Present: Professor, Autonomous University of Madrid


Sava Denev (2005-2009)

Present: Canada


Hoonsoo Kang (2005-2006)

Present: Professor, GIST, Korea


Hui-Fang (2004-2005)


Natalia Malkova (2001-2004)

Present: NIST, Gaithersburg


Alok Sharan (2001-2004)

Present: Professor of Physics, Pondicherry University, India


Yaniv Barad (1999-2001)

Present: Director of Engineering, New Ridge Technologies, MD


Master's Graduates

Jessica Leung, Masters (2013)

Thesis Title: The emergent monoclinic phase in KNbO3 discovered using optical second harmonic generation

Present: Northrop Grumman, Baltimore, MD


Ivan Temnykh, (2012)

Present: Founder, Pine Hollow Diagnostics



Eftihia Vlahos, Masters (2005)

Thesis Title: High dynamic range, long-arm autocorrelation measurements of ultrashort pulses used in femtosecond laser micromachining PDF

Present: US Army Engineer Research and Development Center, Vicksburg, MS


Cheng-Nan Lin, Masters (2003)

Thesis Title: Structure-optical property relations in proton exchanged waveguides in stoichiometric lithium niobate

Present: Dow Chemicals


Undergraduate Research

Charles Battle (1999)

Christopher Baxter (1999)

Steven Fulk (2000)

Phillip Graham (2000)

Sheila Chadman (2000)

Matthew Gentzel (2001)

Kelvin Ng (2001)

Estefania Pickens (2001)

Thomas Dilazaro (2002)

David Comstock (2003)

Luisa Soaterna (2003)

Gaurav Mehta (2005)

Alexander Adler (2006)

Chad Althouse (2007)

William Woodford (2007)

Gabriella Shepard (2009)

Andrew Barnes (2010)

Aaron Foster, (2011) Oklahoma Baptist University

Mantao Huang (2012), Penn State

Ferdinando Romano (2012), The Catholic University of America

Yifan Zhou (2013), Penn State

Pedro Valentin de Jesus (2014), University of Puerto Rico

Forrest Brown (2015)

Ryan Page (2015)

Maggie Kingsland (2016)

Sarah Featherstone (2016)

Kathryn Sautter (2016)

Vincent Liu (2016)